GLUTEN ALIASES TO AVOID
ON A GLUTEN-FREE DIET
Gluten is a protein substance contained in wheat and many other grains. It is what makes dough elastic, which allows dough that contains yeast to rise. Gluten gives the cohesiveness to many products that we use daily. Unfortunately, many of us cannot tolerate the gluten as it can cause inflammation of our bowel walls as well as becoming a morphine-like substance in our children with autism and related disorders. But, when removed from our diets, our systems can return to normal, no longer poisoned by the gluten.
FOODS TO AVOID
Quinoa (This grain is considered to be gluten-free but may not be tolerated by some.)
Millet (This grain has one of the lowest amounts of gluten and may be "safe" for many.)
Buckwheat is often cross-contaminated by other gluten-containing grains. Also, dark Buckwheat flour is ground Buckwheat with extra hulls added and is the most allergenic form. Standard Buckwheat flour is ground buckwheat with the hull but without additional hulls added. Light Buckwheat flour is considered to be the most tolerable as the hull has been removed and the inside is ground. White Buckwheat is ground with the hull and is lighter in color. The exterior is light brown, not dark like the more commercially available Buckwheat.
Amaranth (This grain is considered to be gluten-free but may not be tolerated by some.)
GLUTEN CONTAINING ADDITIVES:
Cereals and cereal grains
Malt, barley malt
Hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP)
Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP)
Modified food starch
Vinegar (Vinegar is often a derivative of gluten containing grains-especially distilled
The Gluten-Free Casein-Free Diet web site will give you information on safe items for consumption that are gluten free.
Here is a listing of some food items that surprisingly contain gluten:
Ketchup (The vinegar in ketchup may contain gluten, and corn syrup, a common
ingredient in ketchup, is often not tolerated by many children.)
Canned tuna fish
Maple syrup (unless labeled 100% pure)
Corn starch (flour is added as an anti-caking ingredient)
Rice syrup (unless labeled gluten-free)
Spices (flour is often added as an anti-caking ingredient)
Heathcare products such as shampoo, conditioner, and soap may contain gluten.
I have done much research to find the safe alternatives. There is a printable list available from the gfcfdiet.com web site that will be very beneficial in easily identifying many of the gluten-laden foods.
Call the manufacturer or do not purchase food if you aren't sure the product is gluten-free. Be suspicious of food additives labeled as "natural flavorings", or "spices", or if the word "extractives of" is part of the ingredient listing. If the ingredient does not state what it is, be suspicious! For example, the FDA does not require some food additives to be listed such as monosodium glutamate (MSG) and hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP) to be specified in some cases - both additives often contain gluten. Food manufacturers are not required to list all ingredients on products for various reasons. Sometimes they can get away from listing ingredients just because the packaging is small, or if they receive the food additive from an outside supplier. If in doubt, don't purchase the product.